Wine bar set to add something new
A NEW wine bar in Wells is on course to open in mid-July.
Sante Wines at Bishop’s Eye is breathing new life into a building originally completed in 1451.
It was built as part of the Bishop’s Eye gateway constructed by Bishop Bekynton to keep locals out of The Bishop’s Palace on market days.
Used as a register office by the bishop, it then became a hat shop, and in more recent years was an antiques shop and a clothes store. At one time it was owned by renowned author John Le Carré.
Louis Agabani and David Schroetter are now turning the premises into a wine shop and wine bar.
There will be tables downstairs, including some outside, as well as intimate dining space upstairs.
There will be wines from all over the world, including Fenny Castle Vineyard at Worth, near Wells; cider from Pilton, and local beers.
There will also be charcuterie boards of cold meats and cheeses for sharing and teas, coffees and pastries on offer.
The tables are old school desks that have come from Wells Reclamation, as have the floorboards. There will be room to seat about 50 people in total, and the wine bar will be available for private functions.
“We’re trying to work with the building. We’re giving the building more room to breathe,” said Louis.
“It’s not a big venue, it’s very intimate, it’s quite boutiquey. It will be very chilled and relaxed.”
David, who has relocated the wine shop from its former site at the bottom of High Street, has 32 years of experience in the wine trade. He has been providing home deliveries during lockdown as well as selling off the shelf from the new location, and will be holding wine tastings when the business is fully open.
Provisional bookings are being taken for the wine bar for September onwards.
Contact David or Louis on 01749 679431 or email email@example.com.